The City of Burlington Public School District serves students in prekindergarten through twelfth grade. The district is one of 31 Abbott Districts statewide. The schools in the district are three elementary schools — Elias Boudinot Elementary School (K - 3;), Captain James Lawrence Elementary School (K - 3;) and Samuel Smith Elementary School (PreK - 3;) — Wilbur Watts Intermediate School (grades 4 - 6;), Burlington City Junior School (grades 7 and 8) and Burlington City High School (Grades 9 - 12;).

For grades 9-12, public school students from Edgewater Park attend the district's high school as part of a sending/receiving relationship with the Edgewater Park School District.

Public school students in Pre-Kindergarten through 12th grade are educated in the Burlington Township School District. The Burlington Township School District includes B. Bernice Young Elementary School, with students in pre-K to 2nd grade; Fountain Woods Elementary School, with students in grades 3 - 5; Burlington Township Middle School at Springside with grades 6 - 8; and Burlington Township High School, with students in grades 9 - 12.

A new school, The Burlington Township Middle School at Springside, has been completed for the 2008-09 school year. The Middle School serves grades 6-8. Grade 9 is now at the Thomas O. Hopkins Middle School building, but is still part of the High School administration. The old Springside Elementary School has been converted to an office building.